Rocky’s Deli

Standard

Located at: Mill Plaza, 235 Saw Mill Road, Millwood, NY 10546

You know those online quizzes: “you know you’re a redneck if…” or “you know you were born in the 80’s if…”? Well mine would say: “You know you grew up in Northern Westchester if… You went to Rocky’s Deli every Saturday night between 11pm – 3am for your entire high school career.” Rocky’s Deli is the late-night pit stop renowned throughout Northern Westchester because it’s open 24 hours. Pizza places close at 10pm and the diners shut down around 1am, so if you’ve got a craving for some munchies it’s really the only option… and it’s a GREAT option! Everyone loves Rocky’s, and insomniacs from 30 minutes away will embark on the drive for a perfectly put-together NY deli sandwich at any hour. On the rare occasion that I stop in during day light, I’m always taken aback by the normal clientele filling the shop- soccer moms and office workers stocking up on cold cuts and heros- I forget that grown-ups come here too. So imagine my surprise when I stumbled in for a breakfast sandwich one morning and not only were there adults everywhere (always catches me off guard) but there was a cute little print-out sign on the counter that said, “We now serve frickles.” My thoughts of eggs and cheese were immediately forgotten, and I ordered up the frickles without a care that it was 8am. They were unlike any frickles I’ve had before- they weren’t homemade- but they weren’t bad. They resembled the mozzarella sticks at any chain restaurant, but with pickles inside instead of cheese. The breading was super thick and kind of doughy, but in a good way. Needless to say, the space I hold in my heart for Rocky’s grew a little bigger that day.

Sorry for the blue hue- I was caught off guard with only my cell phone to take pix.

Texture:      Pickle Spear = 3

Like mozzarella sticks with pickles instead of cheese.

Serving Size:       Whole Pickle = 4

6 spears per serving.

Condiment Selection:   Stem   Pickle Tail = 1

Sigh. Not even ketchup.

Wait Time:      Pickle Spear = 3

I’m pretty sure they forgot about my order, so next time it might be faster but it took about 10 minutes, which is a lot when you’re standing at the deli counter looking longingly at the deep fryer.

Service:     Whole Pickle = 4

Woulda been a Huge Ass Pickle, but I think they forgot my order.

Price:    Huge Ass Pickle   Huge Ass Pickle = 5 (highest)

$3 for 6 spears.

Overall:       Pickle Spear = 3

Not the best, but not bad at all.

Lyss' first juicy bite of Rocky's frickles. Photo Credit: Mr. Jimmy G. Breez Mortarano

3 thoughts on “Rocky’s Deli

      • George Rothe

        ok. now about spending your entire HS career at Rocky’s during the early hours of every Saturday night… define hyperbole! 🙂

Leave a Reply

